DJK Rinpoche asks Greta to visit China on climate

Discuss the application of the Dharma to situations of social, political, environmental and economic suffering and injustice.
PadmaVonSamba

DJK Rinpoche asks Greta to visit China on climate

Post by PadmaVonSamba »

From DKR’s Facebook page:

Dear Ms. Greta Thunberg,

After following your activities for several years, I am writing to you sincerely to make an urgent plea.

I am moved by your passion and dedication in the face of a colossal and seemingly impossible undertaking, with endless obstacles on the way. At the very least, you have made our precarious climate an urgent issue in the hearts and minds of young people. After all, they are the inheritors of the world my generation is leaving behind.

I am a Buddhist, so one of my foundational beliefs is the reality of cause, condition, and impact. I have no knowledge of modern science, but for more than half my life I have been hearing about the degeneration and destruction of the environment. If the world’s scientists are right, then the future of the world seems very grim indeed.

There are individuals like yourself doing all you can. Many more occasionally raise their hands in protest, contribute a few pennies here and there, or refrain from using plastic shopping bags. But no major paradigm shift is happening. And sadly, looking ahead, I don’t have much hope that it will.

If the warnings of scientists are true, as recent events around the world seem to show, then what is the purpose of technological revolutions like artificial intelligence when the earth becomes unlivable. What is the point of a growing economy if we have to buy the air we need to breathe or wage war for fresh water?

If what scientists predict really comes to pass, then we will face problems that cannot be solved just by washing our hands, social distancing, wearing masks, or even state-of-the-art vaccines.