Broken samaya and mental illness

Tsultrimpowo

Broken samaya and mental illness

Post by Tsultrimpowo »

Greetings

for over ten years I studied dzogchen with a Tibetan teacher. I did abhisheka and regular retreats. It was a wonderfully intimate and powerful experience.. Unfortunately a scandal erupted regarding past misconduct with the teacher and the community blew up. We were given the opportunity to return my samaya, which I did, fearing that I was harbouring bad feelings and I didnt feel I could continue with this teacher.

Ive experienced many personal losses that culminated in mental health crisis, that felt more like a demonic attack and experience of the lower realms. There was very little discussion about samaya commitments, certainly nothing about purifying broken vows. Considering the amount of bad behaviour in the community this was surprising. I cant think of anything I might of done to intentionally cause harm or violate samaya, but I also recognize how naive I was and thick my habitual patterns are. So much has been revealed to me in this experience. The dharma is the most important thing in my life, but somehow I feel I have failed and I feel very disconnected and disheartened. Dzogchen is extreme and I wonder if this par for the course and part of the path of purification. It is hard to know how to heal this and move forward.

I am considering taking samaya again with this teacher and focusing on purification, but wondering if it is too late. I would appreciate some help
jamesrigzin

Re: Broken samaya and mental illness

Post by jamesrigzin »

Hey brother.

Well, if you respectfully returned your samaya/apprenticeship to this lama, why would you want to take samaya vows again with him?

Why haven’t you moved on? I understand it is easy for me to say/ask, not having had the experience you describe.

But I’m genuinely curious.

🙏🏼
Soma999

Post by Soma999 »

You have cut the connection with this teacher, not with dgogchen.