How can I avoid bad karma? Is karma important in Jodo Shin Shu?

rodolfosancheznusa36

How can I avoid bad karma? Is karma important in Jodo Shin Shu?

Post by rodolfosancheznusa36 »

I'm new to the Jodo Shinshu path and I'm very interested in this. If I have read correctly, observing the precepts strictly is not that important since we are guaranteed rebirth in Sukhavati/Jodo. But I'm worried about my worldly life here on earth and how breaking the precepts can make my life more miserable in some way. Please help.

Namu Amida Butsu. 🙏🙏
Aemilius

Re: How can I avoid bad karma? Is karma important in Jodo Shin Shu?

Post by Aemilius »

Karma and merit do matter in Pureland buddhism. See for example the nine levels of rebirth, that are described in the Meditation of Amitayus sutra (Kangyo), one of the Three Pureland sutras. The nine levels are found at the end of this sutra https://jodoshinshu.faith/the-sutra-of- ... able-life/
svaha
"All human beings are born free and equal in dignity and rights.
They are endowed with reason and conscience and should act towards one another in a spirit of brotherhood.
Sarvē mānavāḥ svatantrāḥ samutpannāḥ vartantē api ca, gauravadr̥śā adhikāradr̥śā ca samānāḥ ēva vartantē. Ētē sarvē cētanā-tarka-śaktibhyāṁ susampannāḥ santi. Api ca, sarvē’pi bandhutva-bhāvanayā parasparaṁ vyavaharantu."
Universal Declaration of Human Rights, Article 1. (in english and sanskrit)
Zhen Li

Post by Zhen Li »

rodolfosancheznusa36 wrote: Sun Sep 25, 2022 1:55 pm I'm new to the Jodo Shinshu path and I'm very interested in this. If I have read correctly, observing the precepts strictly is not that important since we are guaranteed rebirth in Sukhavati/Jodo. But I'm worried about my worldly life here on earth and how breaking the precepts can make my life more miserable in some way. Please help.

Namu Amida Butsu. 🙏🙏