Does it matter what Pure Land school I follow?

rodolfosancheznusa36

Does it matter what Pure Land school I follow?

Post by rodolfosancheznusa36 »

Hello everyone. I'm new to the Pure Land path and also new to this forum. I've been wondering what is the right pure land path for me. I am a very busy person and I almost have no more time for single-minded chanting of the Name. I am into Jodo Shinshu but I don't know if it is as "effective" as the Chinese schools. I like all of them, both Chinese and Japanese. I can't choose. Will all of them lead me to Sukhavati rebirth? Should I depend on Other Power, or is Self Power also important? Thank you. Amitofo. 🙏🙏
明安 Myoan
Former staff member

Re: Does it matter what Pure Land school I follow?

Post by 明安 Myoan »

It really depends on your affinities.
There's something to learn from every Pure Land school, and by and large, they will tell you to keep chanting Amida Buddha's name as often as you can. I suppose the main difference is who emphasizes what and when.

For me, I found one teacher's advice particularly memorable and encouraging.
Over the years, I turned to his words in times of need, even as I explored other temples and religions. I'd remember my teacher, then immediately remember Amida Buddha.

The sum of those experiences and reflections funneled me towards that school, in a way I couldn't have planned. Moods, understanding, and life situation are all in flux; whose words keep you close to the Three Jewels, to Amida Buddha?

In any case, there are many Pure Land teachers I'll want to talk to once born in the Pure Land :reading:
Namu Amida Butsu
Mdg137

Post by Mdg137 »

All schools are good, and all are effective in one way or another. The question of which one you should choose is a different question however.