Elitism in Buddhism?

General discussion, particularly exploring the Dharma in the modern world.
Lana_L

Elitism in Buddhism?

Post by Lana_L »

Hi all. I'm new to Buddhism, new to the forum, and have a sincere, genuine question to ask. I fear that this may come across as inflammatory so please know that this is not my intent.

I was raised as a Christian, lived the beginning of my adult life as an agnostic, and within the past two years or so have become increasingly drawn to Buddhism. My struggle? I don't know if there's any gentle way to say this, so I'll just say it - I've found a lot of real or perceived (by me) snobbery in the local Buddhist community. Granted, I do live in an area where one doesn't generally show up to yoga class without a $200 pair of designer yoga pants, but I still expected actual Buddhist sitting groups to be free of this attitude. Then again, I'm wondering if it's just culture shock on my part as I'm used to the very different attitude of the Christian churches I grew up in.

To give more specific examples, my first exposure to Buddhism was two years ago at a presentation on mindfulness and stress presented by some local practitioners. The distinct vibe I got was "There are stupid questions. And some of you are asking them." Maybe understandable if this had been an experienced group (I think I asked something very non-Buddhist, like how mindfulness could help us compete in the workplace) but for a newbie it was hurtful to get an "I think I just swallowed a bug. Seriously?" face in response to a misguided query. I chalked it up to me being new and saying the wrong things.