Starting a Daily Practice

General discussion, particularly exploring the Dharma in the modern world.
Tennyson

Starting a Daily Practice

Post by Tennyson »

I was reading over the morning practice thread in this forum, and since I don't have a strict morning practice (or any kind of morning routine at present), I wanted to ask what a daily practice is like for you folks, and compare my daily practice.

I'm still new to Buddhism, and I admit to being a little eclectic in how I've practiced, drawing on what I've read both from Mahayana sources like Fo Guang Shan, the Kwan Um School, and Sanshinji, and on websites such as Access to Insight and Dhammatalks, which are centered around Theravada. My practice at this point is largely based on meditation, mantra, and study.

My solo practice typically goes a bit like this:
1. I repeat "namo tassa bhagavato arahato samma-sambuddhassa" three times.
2. I bow three times, saying "I take refuge in the Buddha, I take refuge in the Dharma, I take refuge in the Sangha" three times each.
3. I offer incense to the Buddha or some ice water (I only use incense if my grandmother is out of the house because it gives her a bit of a headache).
4. I spend between ten and twenty minutes meditating silently. I've made good use of Thanissaro Bhikkhu's guided meditations to help me get into meditation.
5. I recite a couple of sutras, usually the Heart Sutra and Great Compassion Dharani in Japanese (the versions I'm comfortable using, since I cannot pronounce Chinese to save my life).
6. Recently I purchased a mala as a visual reminder to practice, and I've been using it to count mantra recitations, usually "Om mani padme hum" or "Gate gate paragate parasamgate bodhi svaha", though I've thought about incorporating "Namo Amitabha" as well.
7. Finish by bowing and taking refuge again.