Is Buddhism necessary?

General discussion, particularly exploring the Dharma in the modern world.
SaaZ

Is Buddhism necessary?

Post by SaaZ »

Hi everyone!

Sometimes a doubt crosses my mind: what if all this Buddhism is just a big fuss over nothing?

I mainly studied the Soto Zen tradition and I have been practising Zazen (Zen meditation) twice a day for almost 10 years. Although there is a side of me that thinks Buddhism is the only way to go. Sometimes I have some doubts, like:
- It appears to me that Buddhist and non-Buddhist have the same quality of life; random people that seem ok and random Buddhist that seem tangled in their own problem.
- When people say "don't overthink stuff" it can be pretty close to what a generic meditation is.
- I think Buddhism changed me from being a deeply neurotic person to a normal guy, but what if is just the common growing and life experiences and that has nothing to do with Buddhism?
- Buddhist is great! Why not everyone is Buddhist? Why among my peer and relatives I'm the only one?

Do you also have these doubts? Any comment?

PadmaVonSamba

Re: Is Buddhism necessary?

Post by PadmaVonSamba »

Do you need the Buddhist teachings in order to be happy? No.
What do you think you need the teachings for?
EMPTIFUL.
An inward outlook produces outward insight.
Queequeg
Former staff member

Post by Queequeg »

If all beings can see clearly, then unnecessary.

This is just a regimen for developing our ability to see and passing the wisdom on to future generations.

That is all.
There is no suffering to be severed. Ignorance and klesas are indivisible from bodhi. There is no cause of suffering to be abandoned. Since extremes and the false are the Middle and genuine, there is no path to be practiced. Samsara is nirvana. No severance achieved. No suffering nor its cause. No path, no end. There is no transcendent realm; there is only the one true aspect. There is nothing separate from the true aspect.