Are there any Buddhist doctors here? How do you balance your work/study and spiritual practice?

General discussion, particularly exploring the Dharma in the modern world.
buddhistdoc9

Are there any Buddhist doctors here? How do you balance your work/study and spiritual practice?

Post by buddhistdoc9 »

I'm at a point of decisions between further training and career paths, and would like to discuss with any other Buddhist doctors. Thank you.
pemachophel

Re: Are there any Buddhist doctors here? How do you balance your work/study and spiritual practice?

Post by pemachophel »

I was a doctor for 30 years. On the one hand, I had to make a living and practicing medicine was at least a helpful/helping occupation. On the other, it did take away from my formal practice. At times I felt quite split. However, just before I retired, I had the opportunity for parts of two years to treat Chatral Rinpoche. Honestly, I think the 30 years practice I put in was practice specifically for that. So looking back, no regrets.

When I retired, I was financially able to go into home retreat where I have been now for more than a dozen years.
Pema Chophel པདྨ་ཆོས་འཕེལ
ThreeVows

Re: Are there any Buddhist doctors here? How do you balance your work/study and spiritual practice?

Post by ThreeVows »

I'm a primary care doctor, but I think we already talked on reddit. I assume you're the same person.
“Whoever wants to find the wisdom beyond intellect without praying to his guru is like someone waiting for the sun to shine in a cave facing the north. He will never realize appearances and his mind to be one.”
Kyabje Dilgo Khyentse Rinpoche
avatamsaka3

Post by avatamsaka3 »

work/study and spiritual practice?
What makes you think these are different?
buddhistdoc9

Post by buddhistdoc9 »

avatamsaka3 wrote: Wed Mar 03, 2021 1:46 pm