How do you remember teachings when triggered?

General discussion, particularly exploring the Dharma in the modern world.
[N.B. This is the forum that was called ‘Exploring Buddhism’. The new name simply describes it better.]
leorose8888

How do you remember teachings when triggered?

Post by leorose8888 »

Hi everyone,

It's my first time posting so apologies if I don't get the etiquette quite right.

I've suffered my whole life with deep insecurity and anxiety issues. I have been practising buddhism for a couple of months now and am doing so much better! The teachings all really make sense to me and it has given me self-compassion and a sense of calm over the uncontrollable I never thought possible (I have OCD).

There is one area of my life however, in which buddhism is not yet bringing me peace and I would love your help with this. Like I said, I am very insecure and that plays out in a big way in my romantic relationships. I am in a relationship now, but as always I am making myself miserable with insecurities over it all.

My question is, when something happens that triggers my insecurity, how do I remember my buddhist teachings? With all my other issues i have been able to apply the teachings really well and it has had a dramatic impact on my life, but with this it feels that when I am triggered I forget all of it and have an intense emotional reaction and feel like I can't cope to the point that I sometimes feel suicidal. Basically I'm wondering, how do you remember to apply the teachings when you are really upset by something?

Thank you so much and sorry for the long post. I really appreciate your support.
PadmaVonSamba

Re: How do you remember teachings when triggered?

Post by PadmaVonSamba »

I think this question applies to everyone. So, don’t feel self-conscious for asking. The details don’t really matter.