17th Gyalwang Karmapas: Ogyen Trinley Dorje and Trinley Thaye Dorje

Pårl

17th Gyalwang Karmapas: Ogyen Trinley Dorje and Trinley Thaye Dorje

Post by Pårl »

Good afternoon everyone,

I just got back from a very englightening and joyful weekend retreat with out Lama.

Both our Lamas are of Kagyu lineage. Our two Lamas trained at the Sonada monastery in the Sikkim province.

I notice many images of the current karmapa. And here is where my question stems from: which kagyu sub-schools have accepted which karmapa as their chosen incarnation to continue the kagyu lineage? 17th Gyalwang Karmapas: Ogyen Trinley Dorje or Trinley Thaye Dorje ?

Does it matter?

Before I enter what might be a sensitive topic why my teachers and sangha, I thought I would poll opinion hre first.

Thanks for your thoughts on this! I'm still very new to all this and take neutral stance. So I really don't mind if people have strong views they wish to post here: it's all learning for me.
Knotty Veneer

Re: 17th Gyalwang Karmapas: Ogyen Trinley Dorje and Trinley Thaye Dorje

Post by Knotty Veneer »

Who is Karmapa is irrelevant largely to any Kagyu school other than the Karma Kagyu.
This is not the wrong life.
Schrödinger’s Yidam

Post by Schrödinger’s Yidam »

Sadly it split the Karma Kagyu Sangha.
1.The problem isn’t ‘ignorance’. The problem is the mind you have right now. (H.H. Karmapa XVII @NYC 2/4/18)
2. I support Mingyur R and HHDL in their positions against lama abuse.
3. Student: Lama, I thought I might die but then I realized that the 3 Jewels would protect me.
Lama: Even If you had died the 3 Jewels would still have protected you. (DW post by Fortyeightvows)
justsit

Post by justsit »

Paul2020 wrote: Mon Oct 04, 2021 4:34 pm