Differences between Vajravarahi practice in Kagyupa schools

lasirene

Differences between Vajravarahi practice in Kagyupa schools

Post by lasirene »

Hi. I am a student of Ole Nydahl. I would like to do the practice of Dorje Phagmo, but soon I will not have any opportunity to take initiation from the hands of the Karma Kagyu lama. However, it is possible that Garchen Rinpoche from Drikung Kagyu line will give me this initiation sooner. I saw thangkas of Vajravarahi from Drikung Kagyu school and some of them show the Dakini with the raised left foot, while in Karma Kagyu it is the right leg. However, when she hugs her partner, it is assumed the position as in other traditions... I wonder what are the differences between the practices of these two schools?
dzoki

Re: Differences between Vajravarahi practice in Kagyupa scho

Post by dzoki »

lasirene wrote:Hi. I am a student of Ole Nydahl. I would like to do the practice of Dorje Phagmo, but soon I will not have any opportunity to take initiation from the hands of the Karma Kagyu lama. However, it is possible that Garchen Rinpoche from Drikung Kagyu line will give me this initiation sooner. I saw thangkas of Vajravarahi from Drikung Kagyu school and some of them show the Dakini with the raised left foot, while in Karma Kagyu it is the right leg. However, when she hugs her partner, it is assumed the position as in other traditions... I wonder what are the differences between the practices of these two schools?