Thinking

Discussion of meditation in the Mahayana and Vajrayana traditions.
Mindful Entity

Thinking

Post by Mindful Entity »

Hello!
I started meditating a couple years ago to ease my depression and anxiety. In the beginning I used to forcibly push away my thoughts because my view on meditation was that of being in a state of bliss. As time went on I came to the realization that by not accepting my thoughts I only make things worse. I am new to thoughts and would like to learn more about it.
My question is: How do you use meditation for constructive and analytical thinking and how do you apply it in your relationships, work and in life overall?
Thank you!
narhwal90
Global Moderator

Re: Thinking

Post by narhwal90 »

Learn to let go of thoughts, views, opinions, reactions on the cushion- then likewise out in the world.
Queequeg
Former staff member

Post by Queequeg »

Mindful Entity wrote: Thu Feb 18, 2021 6:39 pm Hello!
I started meditating a couple years ago to ease my depression and anxiety. In the beginning I used to forcibly push away my thoughts because my view on meditation was that of being in a state of bliss. As time went on I came to the realization that by not accepting my thoughts I only make things worse. I am new to thoughts and would like to learn more about it.
My question is: How do you use meditation for constructive and analytical thinking and how do you apply it in your relationships, work and in life overall?
Thank you!
There are many approaches to meditation that promise better thinking applied to relationships and work. Transcendental Meditation, for instance.

That's not what Buddhists generally do. To put it sort of humorously, we're not practicing to get better at samsara. We're looking to end samsara.