Initiation, and your experience with Buddhist Centers

Forum for discussion of Tibetan Buddhism. Questions specific to one school are best posted in the appropriate sub-forum.
SilverFantasy

Initiation, and your experience with Buddhist Centers

Post by SilverFantasy »

Hi, I've been studying Buddhism for a couple years now, and am interested in entering some form of a sangha in the future. I was wondering if you could tell me anything about your experiences entering into Buddhist centers? Was it intimidating? Welcoming? Exciting?

If you want to know a little about me, I work as a therapist in homeless shelters within NYC, and while I've studied many religions for years, something really clicked when I started helping clients to get into mindfulness practices, and started doing continuing education in Buddhist influenced therapies such as Acceptance and Commitment therapy. I'm particularly interested within the Nyingma tradition, and one day being able to study Dzochen - though I'm open to practicing within other areas as well. So far I've been doing my own dharma practices and have been trying to put together some form of daily schedule, though I can't help but feel like I'm grabbing at a 100 different things and don't know where to really start, or how long to focus on particular aspects of practice.

Does anyone have any specific recommendations for NYC sanghas as well?

Thanks
treehuggingoctopus

Re: Initiation, and your experience with Buddhist Centers

Post by treehuggingoctopus »

https://www.dudjomtersar.org/

This is the sangha of Namgay Dawa Rinpoche, who -- apart from being a fully qualified Dudjom Tersar lama -- is self-effacingly humble, very approachable and kind to a fault.
Générosité de l’invisible.
Notre gratitude est infinie.
Le critère est l’hospitalité.

Edmond Jabès
PeterC

Post by PeterC »