Let's talk about common misconceptions of Buddhism

General forum on the teachings of all schools of Mahayana and Vajrayana Buddhism. Topics specific to one school are best posted in the appropriate sub-forum.
Nicholas2727

Let's talk about common misconceptions of Buddhism

Post by Nicholas2727 »

When I first stated practicing Buddhism a few years ago I ran into many misconceptions or "watered down" elements of Buddhism. After I started studying with other teachers I realized how many misunderstandings there are with some modern forms of Buddhism. I felt a topic going over some misconceptions of Buddhism could be useful not only for myself but for anyone else studying Buddhism who finds this. So what are some misconceptions you feel are present in Buddhism today? These misconceptions can be for Buddhism as a whole, or for your specific lineage.
Johnny Dangerous
Global Moderator

Re: Let's talk about common misconceptions of Buddhism

Post by Johnny Dangerous »

Nicholas2727 wrote: Sat Jun 19, 2021 2:55 pm When I first stated practicing Buddhism a few years ago I ran into many misconceptions or "watered down" elements of Buddhism. After I started studying with other teachers I realized how many misunderstandings there are with some modern forms of Buddhism. I felt a topic going over some misconceptions of Buddhism could be useful not only for myself but for anyone else studying Buddhism who finds this. So what are some misconceptions you feel are present in Buddhism today? These misconceptions can be for Buddhism as a whole, or for your specific lineage.