Creating an aversion to the Dharma in someone

General forum on the teachings of all schools of Mahayana and Vajrayana Buddhism. Topics specific to one school are best posted in the appropriate sub-forum.
yan kong

Creating an aversion to the Dharma in someone

Post by yan kong »

So a little bit of context here. I'm a baker and I've taken to listening to the mantra of Green Tara at work. I work with a young lady whose rather sick of it (she has not expressed this sentiment to me). She does not work directly beside me and I never force anyone to listen to it if they don't wish to.

My question is should I stop listening to it at work if it is creating aversion to an aspect of the Dharma in someone?
"Meditation is a spiritual exercise, not a therapeutic regime... Our intention is to enter Nirvana, not to make life in Samsara more tolerable." Chan Master Hsu Yun
boda

Re: Creating an aversion to the Dharma in someone

Post by boda »

Have you considered headphones? they make them very small these days, and even wireless.
dzogchungpa

Post by dzogchungpa »

Just out of curiosity, which recording of the mantra are you using?
There is not only nothingness because there is always, and always can manifest. - Thinley Norbu Rinpoche
Nebetmiw

Post by Nebetmiw »

One once told me the Mantra should only be spoken with intention in private.
Listening in public place to me defeats the purpose.

But it might be grating on someone to hear over and over every day who is not into religious sounds.
You might ask your employee what they like and interchange it with their type of music too. As long as it is not offensive to all customers or you.
yan kong

Post by yan kong »

Boda, I'm pretty lucky to have control over my own music in my own space but headphones I think would be a step too far. I still need to communicate with coworkers and the like. But it's a worthy suggestion.