Not sure where to ask this

Casual conversation between friends. Anything goes (almost).
Lotomístico

Not sure where to ask this

Post by Lotomístico »

Good day.

Not sure where to ask this, so here goes, the lounge seems like a suitable place.

Newbie here. Been perusing the various subforums and threads, general and those of specific traditions. I find it all very fascinating.

The thing is, I'm just a beginner in Buddhism. Furthermore, I'm not a terribly astute nor particularly deep person. Complex ideas are difficult for me to grasp. I'm not very educated (high school). When I read many posts on DW I feel lost, so many technical terms and concepts that are beyond me. I'm impressed hearing the conversations, explanations and debates, but feel that I can't really join the conversations.

Does anyone have any suggestions for me? How to get "up to speed"? I'm not going to suddenly (or anytime soon) become a profound person...but I want to práctice Dharma, attain the way (after countless aeons and millions of lifetimes hahaha) but how to get started? Perhaps a "starter course", Buddhism for regular people, or maybe a Dharma práctice suited to people who aren't super smart.

Advice sincerely appreciated
Hazel
Former staff member

Re: Not sure where to ask this

Post by Hazel »

Welcome!

Are there local Dharma centers near you? Many will have classes that are suitable for beginners. You could check those out.

Receive teachings, put them into practice, repeat.
Happy Pride month to my queer dharma siblings!

What do you see when you turn out the lights?
KristenM

Post by KristenM »

Hola,

Many of the best practitioners and highly realized were not academics or had a higher education. So, you are in good company.