Practicing with SGI in 2021, how do you view the organization?

jayislost

Practicing with SGI in 2021, how do you view the organization?

Post by jayislost »

Hi everyone.

I have been practicing with SGI for around 3 years now and have long been interested in Buddhism, and wanted to hear from others who practice with/attend SGI meetings.

There are many pros to being involved in SGI for me. The biggest positive is the diverse membership and accessibility, which as a young black man allows me to practice Buddhism in a way that feels relevant to daily life for people from my community. I enjoy the community aspect, and have received helpful guidance and support from other members.

I do sometimes feel frustrated with the ways it can feel like SGI is not adapting to the times however. While I respect pres. Ikeda and his books and teachings have formed an important foundation for my practice, I feel like the lack of transparency of the organization is becoming a bit of an elephant in the room. I heard one leader encouraging us at a meeting to prepare for an important meeting coming up because she knew that Ikeda would be watching via zoom :shrug: . Many members are rehearsing to sing for sensei at larger regional meetings, while we are all aware of his absence.

While these issues bother me, I ultimately feel like the community I find and the support for my practice is something I dont know if I would be able to find in many other Buddhist groups. I have come to the point that I take what I can from meetings and tune out some of the other aspects that I don't necessarily agree with/relate to.

I wanted to hear others thoughts about how they view their practice with SGI in 2021, and how they feel about the future of SGI. As I am a member I don't mean any of this disrespectfully and just want to start a discussion! :namaste:
narhwal90
Global Moderator

Re: Practicing with SGI in 2021, how do you view the organization?

Post by narhwal90 »