Christianity and Buddhism the same?

If you're new to the forum or new to Buddhism, this is the best place for your questions. Responses require moderator approval before they are visible.
adrianmannion

Christianity and Buddhism the same?

Post by adrianmannion »

I am fairly new to Buddhism but I have read many books on it.

I have a question. If you pare Buddhism back, is it not broadly the same as Christianity? But with a noticeable difference that Christianity believes in a god (and associated supernatural notions such as angels and demons etc) and Buddhism believes in re-birth (and associated supernatural notions such as other realms etc). I presume the Buddha may have thought re-birth exists because he grew up in that part of the world (India, Hinduism) where they believe in that sort of thing. Had he grew up in Israel, he may have thought that a god exists.

Meditation being another noticeable difference (although I understand Christians seem to now believe in that too now - prayers being talking to god and meditation listening to god).

But that aside, are they not more or less broadly the same? Generosity, patience, loving kindness, truthfulness etc. All being virtues to living a better life. I don't need people to go into minutiae, I am talking high level here.
Ayu
Global Moderator

Re: Christianity and Buddhism the same?

Post by Ayu »

Mod note:
The topic was approved within this subforum "Discovering Mahayana", because it fairly is a newbie's question.

Please be aware that answers within this subforum need approval. And please avoid compairing religions, because it contravenes our ToS.
The discussion could better stay strictly on topic.
Ayu
Global Moderator

Post by Ayu »

No, they are not the same.
Apples and oranges are fruit, they are juicy and you can make a drink from them, but they are not the same.
Tongnyid Dorje

Post by Tongnyid Dorje »