Difficulty understanding Vijnana/Consciousness

If you're new to the forum or new to Buddhism, this is the best place for your questions. Responses require moderator approval before they are visible.
SleepingTurtle

Difficulty understanding Vijnana/Consciousness

Post by SleepingTurtle »

Dear members,

I am new to Buddhism, but I have a long history of practice in other tradition. By profession, I am clinical psychologist. I read few books on Buddhism, including The Three Pillars of Zen, The Undying Lamp of Zen, The Rinzai Zen Way and What the Buddha Taught.

So far I really dig what Im reading, but one thing confuses me. What exactly IS Vijnana/Consciousness?

From what I understand, it is content associated with what is perceived(psychological trigger), which has has unfulfilled desire/complex in its background?

For example: when eyes become aware of external object(trigger), it causes eye-consciousness(association) to arise. Vijnana/Consciousness arises only because there is some unfinished desire in us related to perceived object.

If there was nothing in us to be associated with external object, eye-consciousness wouldn't arise and we would be unaffected by what we are seeing.

Overall, how does this compare to classical conditioning?

Thank you for reading my post and I wish you an outstanding day!
PadmaVonSamba

Re: Difficulty understanding Vijnana/Consciousness

Post by PadmaVonSamba »

Can you define “classical conditioning” in this particular context?

I’m not sure that the “unfinished desire” part is right on target, depending on what that means, exactly. Everything becomes an “imprint” which then influences our further perceptions.
EMPTIFUL.
An inward outlook produces outward insight.
Astus
Former staff member

Post by Astus »

SleepingTurtle wrote: Sun Nov 01, 2020 11:54 pmWhat exactly IS Vijnana/Consciousness?