The topic here: viewtopic.php?f=13&t=3612
made me think that it might be good to list all the major types of diets from omnivore to the strict vegan diets:
- (almost) anything goes, red meat, poultry, fish, veggies, etc.
- A diet that consists primarily of vegetarian food, but includes occasional exceptions for some kinds of meat.
- A diet that is mainly vegetarian but also includes fish and sometimes other seafood.
- A diet that is mainly vegetarian but also includes poultry.
5. Macrobiotic diet
: A diet of mostly whole grains and beans. Not all macrobiotics are vegetarians, as some consume fish.
6. Lacto-ovo vegetarianism
is a vegetarian diet that permits consumption of animal products such eggs, milk, and honey.
7. Lacto vegetarianism
permits milk and dairy products but abstains from eggs.
8. Ovo vegetarianism
permits eggs but abstains from milk.
abstains from all animal flesh and animal products, including milk, honey, and eggs.
10. Organic veganism
- only organic vegan foods.
11. Su vegetarianism
- excludes all animal products as well as vegetables in the allium family (which have the characteristic aroma of onion and garlic): onion, garlic, scallions, leeks, or shallots.
12. Raw veganism
is a diet of fresh and uncooked fruit, nuts, seeds, and vegetables.
is a diet of only fruit, nuts, seeds, and other plant matter that can be gathered without harming the plant (many Jains follow this diet).
When you list all of the major diets from omnivore to fruitarian, the typical vegetarian diet of 'lacto-ovo' does not look so extreme; at number 6 out of 13.
The Buddha was somewhere between a flexitarian and a lacto-ovo vegetarian diet, based on what is reported of what he ate in the Tipitaka: http://dhammawiki.com/index.php?title=Diet_of_BuddhaPerhaps a new category could be created for monastics and some lay Buddhists
: A diet that consists of eating mostly vegetarian, but with some exceptions when food is offered and graciously accepted. Or when vegetarian foods are chosen and consumed, but may contain animal by-products, but not the main ingredient of the food, such as meat juices, lard, and soup stock. (There may be some meat by-products in the food, but no animal is killed for making the food, the ingredients were added from the 'left-over' items from the meat animals.)
I am mostly vegan myself, but can see where this category may be necessary, especially for some Buddhists who are doing what they can in their environment and don't want to upset the person purchasing and preparing the food.
Not sure what I would call this new category? Perhaps a Three-fold rule flexitarian?