Understanding of the Natural State

Discussion of the fifth religious tradition of Tibet.
kalden yungdrung

Understanding of the Natural State

Post by kalden yungdrung »

Tashi delek,

Here a nice dialogue between H.E. Lopon Tenzin Namdak Rinpoche and one of his students.
Remarkable aspects are the used Self-Awareness and the Knowing aspect.

Mutsog Marro
KY

Question:
I understand very well what you say about needing to understand the presence of all the qualities of Nature in order to understand the real Dzogchen View, and I think I can somehow feel how that works,but I would still like to better understand how it is that by reflecting on and knowing the qualities of the Natural State after the session, in the next session those qualities are more fully expressed. What is the link? When I am studying Dzogchen I am doing something with my mind so I don't understand how that can help my understanding of the Natural State.

H.E. Lopon Tenzin Namdak Rinpoche:

First of all, as far as you have practiced with the Natural State you have to be spontaneously familiar with 'by itself. 'By itself means that Nature itself knows itself and that is called Self-Awareness. As far as you practice and become stable and clear, visions appear spontaneously from time to time. When you are very stable in the Natural State and visions are coming clearly, at that time it is called Empty Form or Knowledge - whatever you say, everything is known in that way. Otherwise it is not comparable with our normal way of knowing this or that; it is not comparable. You yourself are very stable in the Natural State and the visions are all coming, going, but you don't check anything, you don't grasp anything; leave everything as it is. That means you know very well that everything is Empty Form.