How do mind-streams interact?

General discussion, particularly exploring the Dharma in the modern world.
Nikolay

How do mind-streams interact?

Post by Nikolay »

Hello everyone,

I am fairly new to Buddhism, so I have some basic questions.
As I understand, in Buddhist thought a sentient being is basically a mind-stream, i.e. a sequence of experienced states (I may be using wrong terminology here). These mind-streams are distinct - they are not all parts of a single universal consciousness, or something. This makes sense - if they were not distinct, we would all have the same experiences.
(I suppose this is a Yogacara position? Madhyamaka seems to be completely beyond me so far.)
My question is: how do sentient beings interact with each other? Because I am getting the impression that in the described model interaction would be in fact impossible - and how would then Buddhas and Boddhisattvas aid other sentient beings and so on?
Please consider donating to help find a cure for Degenerative Vitreous Syndrome:
http://www.gofundme.com/floaters
Malcolm

Re: How do mind-streams interact?

Post by Malcolm »

mirage wrote:Hello everyone,

I am fairly new to Buddhism, so I have some basic questions.
As I understand, in Buddhist thought a sentient being is basically a mind-stream, i.e. a sequence of experienced states (I may be using wrong terminology here). These mind-streams are distinct - they are not all parts of a single universal consciousness, or something. This makes sense - if they were not distinct, we would all have the same experiences.
(I suppose this is a Yogacara position? Madhyamaka seems to be completely beyond me so far.)
My question is: how do sentient beings interact with each other? Because I am getting the impression that in the described model interaction would be in fact impossible - and how would then Buddhas and Boddhisattvas aid other sentient beings and so on?