Finding a Sangha

Whether you're exploring Buddhism for the first time or you're already on the path, feel free to ask questions of any kind here.

Finding a Sangha

Postby Infinite » Thu Apr 19, 2012 6:28 am

I know many ask which Sangha is right for them but that isn't what I am after with this post. My question is are there any kind of warning signs I should be aware of when looking at Sanghas? Like is there some kind of behavior or mentality that should raise red flags about the nature of the group? I've just been curious as I have already been looking over the Sanghas in the northern part of why State for when I finally transfer to see where I would like to visit and get a feel for the place. So I figured I could ask here about anything I should be aware of or questions I should ask.
Infinite

Re: Finding a Sangha

Postby steveb1 » Thu Apr 19, 2012 7:05 am

I have no experience of public sanghas, as I'm a solitary practicer.

I can only extend the warning attached to cults - beware of a charismatic sangha leader who says things that "just don't feel right" or who obviously skews normative, standard teaching. Watch out for the Dharma being subordinated to anything else. Watch out for "mind control" methods. Inquire ahead of time if you can, talk to members and ex-members.

That's all I can think of. Presumably people with sangha experience will give you helpful details :)
steveb1

Postby Blue Garuda » Thu Apr 19, 2012 8:05 am