Rebirth of whom?

Whether you're exploring Buddhism for the first time or you're already on the path, feel free to ask questions of any kind here.

Rebirth of whom?

Postby cyndilydia » Thu Mar 15, 2012 5:50 pm

Hi. I'm studying 'The Noble Eightfold Path The Way to the End of Suffering' by Bhikkhu Bodhi. I understand the 3 universal marks of existence, in essence - impermanence (aniccata), unsatisfactoriness (dukkhata), and selflessness (anattata) - My confusion is with rebirth. If there is no self, what is the entity that is uniquely identified as whomever/whatever returns for another lifetime?
cyndilydia

Re: Rebirth of whom?

Postby Jikan » Thu Mar 15, 2012 5:56 pm

Here's a useful thread on just that topic.

viewtopic.php?f=66&t=5678
Jikan
Site Admin

Postby Indrajala » Thu Mar 15, 2012 6:03 pm

cyndilydia wrote:Hi. I'm studying 'The Noble Eightfold Path The Way to the End of Suffering' by Bhikkhu Bodhi. I understand the 3 universal marks of existence, in essence - impermanence (aniccata), unsatisfactoriness (dukkhata), and selflessness (anattata) - My confusion is with rebirth. If there is no self, what is the entity that is uniquely identified as whomever/whatever returns for another lifetime?

There is continuity of psycho-physical aggregates (skandhas), but no inherent identity.

You are a process. A continuity. There is no self, but a continuous reaction that perpetuates itself.
Flower Ornament Depository (Blog)
Indrajāla's Contemplations (Blog)
Exploring Classical Chinese (Blog)
Dharma Depository (Site)

"Hui gives me no assistance. There is nothing that I say in which he does not delight." -Confucius
Indrajala
Former staff member

Postby cyndilydia » Thu Mar 15, 2012 7:39 pm

Thank you. The discussions are really helpful.