Does enlightenment really brings bliss?

General discussion, particularly exploring the Dharma in the modern world.
TheSpirit

Does enlightenment really brings bliss?

Post by TheSpirit »

My background is not in Buddhism and some the shallow knowledge that I know, enlightenment means the cessation of desires and attachment so I have a few questions.

-How is someone's mind after enlightenment?
-Is it bliss or joy that enlightenment brings or just silent peace?
-Do they still have feelings?
-Do they still have ambitions?
-Do they still appreciate worldly beauty such as art or maybe nature?
-If someone have a wife or husband or partner, will they lose all interest after enlightenment and abandon them?
-Do they feel pain anymore, say maybe from the lost of a family member or someone close such as a great friend that he or she grew up with and been around their whole life?

Please excuse my lack of knowledge on the subject. I am somehow under the impression that when one realized enlightenment, he or she becomes a robot. Never gets angry or sad, not overly giddy or happy, does not have any attachment and have no desires. It seems ...almost an awful existence....
“To be fully alive is to have an aesthetic perception of life because a major part of the world's goodness lies in its often unspeakable beauty.”
― Yukitaka Yamamoto
hop.pala

Re: Does enlightenment really brings bliss?

Post by hop.pala »

I think before enlightenment is the behaviour similar to the robot.Do things so that know nothing from reasons why we do it.
KonchokZoepa

Post by KonchokZoepa »