Writing a letter

No holds barred discussion on the Buddhadharma. Argue about rebirth, karma, commentarial interpretations etc. Be nice to each other.

Writing a letter

Postby ananda » Sun Jan 01, 2012 1:07 pm

I was writing a letter to a friend of mine about Buddhism and I was wondering if you could tell me what you think of the letter and if you have any suggestions to improve the letter. My apologies for any errors, I am still learning and trying to share what I learn to anyone also interested in the dharma so that it may be of use to them. I would also appreciate help improving the last paragraph in which I speak of practicing the four immeasurables in regards to the physical body.
:namaste:

Dear So and So
I thought I would take the opportunity during this New Year to write down some instructions in regards to Buddhism and it's practicality in daily life. It's a New Year and the errors of the past are dead never again to be ressurected except that they should be regretted and that regret serve to make us more prudent in our daily affairs. During this transitional period we are refreshed and given a renewed determination to trudge on through the murky roads ahead and the mud beneath our feet feel almost like clouds of cotton as we brave our way ahead. Buddhism is not something that we take to our meditation cushions and then leave at our meditation cushions it is a faith whose tenets and teachings we carry everywhere as an indelible mark caused by our practice of it. It is a most proper and complete education capable of reforming the most hardended of hearts and giving strength the weakest of the weak.