St. John of the Cross on Spiritual Materialism

No holds barred discussion on the Buddhadharma. Argue about rebirth, karma, commentarial interpretations etc. Be nice to each other.

St. John of the Cross on Spiritual Materialism

Postby mint » Mon Nov 14, 2011 2:53 pm

St. Juan de la Cruz (John of the Cross) was a man very familiar with some of the Dharma. He may have even been a pratyekabuddha. I was cleaning off some bookshelves this past weekend and ran across the classic Dark Night of the Soul, thumbed through some pages, and realized that my Dharma training began with works such as this. I've simply begun the process of shedding the theistic overtones. It is because of works like this which I studied as a Catholic, that I can now look back at my years as a Catholic not with malice or regret but with a sense of accomplishment much the same way I look back at my years as a child and an adolescent knowing that these years provided the foundation for what has always been coming into fruition.