Antinomianism

No holds barred discussion on the Buddhadharma. Argue about rebirth, karma, commentarial interpretations etc. Be nice to each other.

Antinomianism

Postby matthewmartin » Sat Nov 16, 2013 3:05 am

Antinomianism is Christian an exercise in mental gymnastics that lead to the conclusion that ethics don't matter.

Now, I'm just an amateur, but I keep coming across spirited arguments in Zen & Tantra that imply ethics don't matter. In Zen's case, it's something about non-dualism and how right and wrong, moral and immoral are artificial distinctions & it is all the same. In Tantra, it's the bit about breaking conventional moral rules to ... something, something about using the power of forbidden things to achieve conventionally meritorious things.

Set me straight. What are the arguments, facts or what have you that Buddhist metaphysics doesn't ultimately lead to antinomianism. (And what is the word for antinomianism in the Buddhist traditions?)

Thanks
matthewmartin

Re: Antinomianism

Postby duckfiasco » Sat Nov 16, 2013 3:27 am

I can't give you technical terms or sutra numbers.
I have noticed what you wrote as well.
This idea that we're already enlightened, so somehow ethics don't matter. The occasional under-representation of the sila component, ethics, in American Zen isn't indicative of Zen as a whole, I believe.

The problem in my eyes is it totally lacks compassion for the majority of beings, whose existence is characterized by suffering and painful dualities.
For their sake, we have to behave as harmlessly as possible.

It reminds me of a child being afraid of the monster in their closet.
Clearly it's not real, and with the benefit of experience, you know better.
But the child is still scared. You might even open the closet, show them there's nothing, and they're still afraid.
Will you revel in your superior knowledge and leave the child to fend for himself?