Gaden Lha Gyama

Moderator: Tibetan Buddhism moderators

Gaden Lha Gyama

Postby Dave The Seeker » Sun Feb 12, 2012 9:45 pm

I have received the book I ordered and in reading the Motivation page at the very beginning it states

Not only is this teaching on the profound path of guru yoga a teaching on tantra, it is the highest level, mahanuttara yoga tantra

I am new to Buddhism and as I understand, which could be wrong, Tantra is a bit advanced for someone of my understanding. I've done an extensive search on the site here and read a lot. And without a teacher I should maintain my studies/practice on the mantra level. I guess that's the best way to put it.
Thanks a lot for your help.

Kindest wishes, Dave
Everyday problems teach us to have a realistic attitude.
They teach us that life is what life is; flawed.
Yet with tremendous potential for joy and fulfillment.
~Lama Surya Das~

If your path teaches you to act and exert yourself correctly and leads to spiritual realizations such as love, compassion and wisdom then obviously it's worthwhile.
~Lama Thubten Yeshe~

One whose mind is freed does not argue with anyone, he does not dispute with anyone. He makes use of the conventional terms of the world without clinging to them
~The Buddha~
Dave The Seeker

Re: Gaden Lha Gyama

Postby Will » Sun Feb 12, 2012 11:04 pm

This practice will plant strong, vital seeds for connecting with Je Tsongkhapa's teachings in future lives. So practice it for a time, provided you do have a real admiration for Je Tsongkhapa. After a few days (weeks, months?) you can replace it with lam rim meditations, for example. (By the way mantra is another name for tantra.)

You will not become a tantrika just by practicing one or two tantric practices. If you wish to stay on the sutric or paramita path, just be sure to avoid pledging to keep any tantric vows.