newbie kagyu question

mountainwind

newbie kagyu question

Post by mountainwind »

Hello everyone. I am new to Buddhism but would like to study in the Kagyu Tradition. I've been very impressed with some of the books I've read by various Kaygu teachers and some of the wonderful and helpful websites. However, I've also become aware of the Karmapa controversy. Please forgive me for asking such an obviously beginner's question.

From what I understand, the vast majority of Kagyu teachers and groups follow Ogyen Trinley Dorje. However the group local to me, dechen.org, follows Trinley Thaye Dorje. The lama in question is Jampa Thaye and, by all accounts that I've read, he seems to be very legitimate and reputable. I haven't come across any criticisms of his teachings or ethics.

But if I study with this group, does this mean that I am not allowed to take other teachings from lamas who follow Ogyen Trinley Dorje? ie will I be isolating myself from the rest of Kagyu Buddhism? Or is it accepted to take teachings from teachers on both sides of the dividing line as long as they are legitimate teachers?

(I am just a beginner and have no wish to disparage anyone, no matter which Karmapa they follow!) :)

Thanking you in advance for your patience with Beginner's Mind. :namaste:
Andrew108

Re: newbie kagyu question

Post by Andrew108 »

It's a karma thing. It's about who in the lineage inspires you most. Don't follow a teacher or be involved with an organization just because they are close. A genuine student will meet a genuine teacher no matter what the distance involved is. But again it's all about who inspires you. Do your research.