New Comer

rajroshi

New Comer

Post by rajroshi »

Greeting to all,
I am new to Buddhism and very much interested in Vajrayana but as nowadays working in SUDAN there is no Dharma center here. So just for beginning I have bought the book “Liberation in the Palm of your Hand” and doing practice according to the text of Lamrim and also doing the practice of Yidam Chenrezig from the book gently whispered by Kalu Rinpoche.

But again I am doing it without proper guidance and initiation is it right? How can I improve my practices as I can get leave only next year. So should I keep doing the Lamrim practice and Chenezig practice or I shall wait to get the proper initiation (next year if I could find someone).

Can somebody help me to take some guidance from any learned Lama and next year can you suggest where should it be better to go for proper guidance as I will be in India and thinking to go Kuppan Monestry in Nepal to 1 month Lamrim retreat

Please guide me what shall I do as I am totaly novice for Buddhism.

Regards
kirtu
Former staff member

Re: New Comer

Post by kirtu »

Hi! :hi:

I haven't read that book by HE Kalu Rinpoche but the most important thing would be to practice the Four Thoughts That Turn the Mind From Samsara: precious human birth, impermanence, karma and the sufferings of samsara. Generate the mind of Bodhicitta as much as possible - the intention to gain enlightenment for the sake of all beings throughout space and time and then actualize that as you can by actually helping people when you can. They you can do Atisha's refuge prayer practice while visualizing all the Buddhas and Bodhisattvas in front of you and with you leading all sentient beings in human form in the prayer and visually imagining that yourself and all beings are doing prostrations.