Karma Kagyu versus Diamond way

Glasswalker

Karma Kagyu versus Diamond way

Post by Glasswalker »

Greetings,

this is my first post, though I have been stalking the list for a while. Apologies for my lack of knowledge and for the wordiness of this post, but I need to ask the question properly.

In short, I am a student of western esotericism and after years of work it paid off. For a few years I have had a strong belief that east and west had the same end result with the more esoteric work and about 4 years ago I started studying Tibetan Buddhism. I am an academic in my dayjob, thus naturally my research was academia based. I read books about books ;) and source material such as sutras and Sadhanas, tantras, etc. My realisation was that in the Dharma is said clearly and concisely what we in the west hide behind initiations. Now, the didactics of the western method does have some validity, though this made me more drawn to the Dharma. I started visiting a theravada center and "learned to meditate". I have also done a few retreats. I have been wanting to start a vajrayana practice, but have been held back by the traditionalism in some of the centers that basically seem to be aimed at turning you into a monk and not considering the tantrika/yogin aspect of a layperson....
So as it has been I have mostly been getting my vajrayana fix by doing Vajrasattva, Tara and Medicine Buddha Sadhanas and following HH Namkhai Norbu Rinpoche's webcasts.

A few weeks ago something ripened within me and I started to look at becoming part of a school, with refuge and empowerments and the whole shebang.