YOU CANNOT POST. OUR WEB HOSTING COMPANY DECIDED TO MOVE THE SERVER TO ANOTHER LOCATION. IN THE MEANTIME, YOU CAN VIEW THIS VERSION WHICH DOES NOT ALLOW POSTING AND WILL NOT SAVE ANYTHING YOU DO ONCE THE OTHER SERVER GOES ONLINE.

Hi I'm new to Buddhism and this forum - Dhamma Wheel

Hi I'm new to Buddhism and this forum

Introduce yourself to others at Dhamma Wheel.
metta_noob

Hi I'm new to Buddhism and this forum

Postby metta_noob » Wed May 12, 2010 3:09 am

My name is KC and I'm from Malaysia. I've just started to explore Buddhism seriously in the last 2 months. I live near a Sri Lankan temple in the Theravadian tradition and that's where I've been going for dhamma talks. I've also done a bit of scratching (of the surface) on the web for learning resources and two names I've been reading or listening to are Ven Punnaji and Ajahn Brahm ... not to mention a variety of booklets I found at the temple.

Though a born Buddhist / Taoist (I'm Chinese), I've never found the urge to really learn and practise it ... i was more of an agnostic. I recently read that the Buddha said that suffering is a pre-condition of enlightenment ... pls correct me if I've got that wrong and also if someone can elaborate on that for me ;) That struck a chord with me ... my urge to explore Buddhism seriously at the beginning of 2010 arose from a personal suffering experience.

Frankly I haven't learnt about enlightenment but it sounds like a good thing. On the same breath, I also came across craving ... as well as "spiritual materialism" ... it's all rather confusing and "abundant" as in the vastness of the deep blue sea ... so much to learn, so little time ....

LOL I'm rambling already because I do not know the territory I've led myself into ... so I'll just end with hopes of everybody's guidance, kindness and compassion

kc
Last edited by metta_noob on Thu Apr 19, 2012 11:34 am, edited 1 time in total.

bodom

Re: Hi I'm new to Buddhism and this forum