Vajra Hell

padma norbu

Vajra Hell

Post by padma norbu »

So, I was reading "Rainbow Painting" by Tulku Urgyen Rinpoche and he suddenly brings up a point he says he hates to tell us, but it's true: a Vajrayana practitioner is like a snake in a tube; he can either go up or down, not left or right. He goes on to explain that the powerful blessing of Vajrayana carries with it some powerful consequences if samaya is not maintained. He says if broken samaya is not repaired within 3 years, then there's nothing that can be done and you are destined for a lower rebirth.

I found this quite shocking and disappointing. So, I did some Googling and found a list of samaya from rigpa wiki, printed it out and took a good look at it. Really, there's nothing on that list that should be too difficult to maintain. The problem is, I'm pretty sure I've already gone more than 3 years without repairing my broken samaya.

I don't know what to believe/follow at the moment. I am a student of Chogyal Namkhai Norbu's. I've emailed him occasionally about some problems and, when I thought they were big deals, he would respond with something very comforting:

"You don't worry. You do your best."

And he didn't say much more than that! I found it slightly perplexing at first because I was hoping to get some really specific advice I suppose about how to fix my mind/attitudes/whatever, but after some thought I came to find it very comforting, like I said. It also kind of made me feel :rolling: like I was blowing everything out of proportion.

Well, I don't know if I was blowing everything out of proportion. I was having issues stemming from alcohol use and I am still working on this today. In fact, this is the main samaya I've broken, along with probably causing problems among my vajra brothers and sisters (although this was very early on and hopefully I fixed that with one of the ganapujas I attended).