Prayer request (quitting smoking)

Requesting and offering prayers and aspirations for those in need.

Prayer request (quitting smoking)

Postby maxaroni13 » Wed Apr 30, 2014 3:40 am

I have been smoking for 7 or 8 years and I have quit so many times... My entire family smokes so it is hard... Cold turkey is the only way to go so prayers being requested for me to quit cold turkey right now successfully and never pick up another.. As well as for my family to get inspired to quit... And for everyone trying to quit... It's no good nobody is even enjoying smoking we just hate the thought of quitting... The Buddha said the root of all suffering is craving so may all sentient beings to be free of craving! Smoking is deteriorating not only my health but my spiritual progress because I am dominated by this craving! So I want to say May all sentient beings ruled by craving know that there a way to cease the suffering!

ye dharmā hetu prabhavā hetun,
teṣāṃ tathāgato hyavadat,
teṣāṃ ca yo nirodha,
evaṃ vādī mahāśramaṇa

All phenomena arise from causes;
Those causes have been taught by the Tathagata (Buddha),
And their cessation too has been proclaimed by the Great Shramana.

:thanks:
maxaroni13

Re: Prayer request (quitting smoking)

Postby lobster » Wed Apr 30, 2014 8:11 am

:twothumbsup:

Bravo.

I wish you every success. Will do some mantra for you later.

:applause:
lobster

Postby Gwenn Dana » Wed Apr 30, 2014 12:22 pm

Good intention :-)

Also stop opposing to smoke or blaming you for following the habit for the waves to really calm down.
I forgot that the first couple of times when "quitting".
Then I never quit, just dehabituated picking up cigarettes and habituated putting them back down.
That is, like, erm, smoker and non-smoker at the same time and neither, just can´t answer the question. :jumping:

gya tei gya tei
hara gya tei
hara so gya tei
bo ji so wa ka

Best wishes
Gwenn
Gwenn Dana

Postby Johnny Dangerous » Wed Apr 30, 2014 5:43 pm