YOU CANNOT POST. OUR WEB HOSTING COMPANY DECIDED TO MOVE THE SERVER TO ANOTHER LOCATION. IN THE MEANTIME, YOU CAN VIEW THIS VERSION WHICH DOES NOT ALLOW POSTING AND WILL NOT SAVE ANYTHING YOU DO ONCE THE OTHER SERVER GOES ONLINE.

Help with Theravada Research: Lojong? - Dhamma Wheel

Help with Theravada Research: Lojong?

A discussion on all aspects of Theravāda Buddhism
Win123

Help with Theravada Research: Lojong?

Postby Win123 » Mon Jun 20, 2011 10:29 pm

Hi All,

I am a clinical psychology doctoral student at the Wright Institute in Berkeley, CA. and also a research assistant. I have been asked to help with research involving a survey of meditation practices tailored for Theravada practitioners. I am currently modifying one line of a previous survey that was originally conducted with American Tibetan Buddhist practitioners. The question served as a demographic item to gauge their level of experience / knowledge of Mahayana Buddhism:

"How familiar are you with Lojong (mind training)".

My naive understanding is that "Lojong" is a term for a mind training practice that is confined to Mahayana practitioners. Is this basically correct? If so, is there some equivalent term or practice in Theravada that would be logically comparable and what would that be? What would be an alternative to the above question that would make sense for the Theravada community?

If there isn't any logical equivalent in Theravada that is OK too, I can ask that the line just be removed if it doesn't apply to Theravada Buddhists.

I hope that make sense, I apologize in advance for my novice understanding. :smile:

Thanks in advance for any and all replies.

Regards,

Win.
Doctoral Student in Clinical Psychology (Psy.D.)
The Wright Institute
Berkeley, CA

Nyana

Re: Help with Theravada Research: Lojong?

Postby Nyana » Mon Jun 20, 2011 11:38 pm

befriend

Postby befriend » Mon Jun 20, 2011 11:43 pm