buddhahood

General forum on the teachings of all schools of Mahayana and Vajrayana Buddhism. Topics specific to one school are best posted in the appropriate sub-forum.
Iforgotthem

buddhahood

Post by Iforgotthem »

I have been practicing Buddhism for 25 years now.

Ever since I started practicing, when ever people talk about becoming enlightened, i have no feeling. I have never thought to myself that i'm going to be a buddha. When ever the conversation comes up about becoming a buddha, i become disinterested. I dont want to hear it.

When i use to be in a group, people would say " I wonder what being a buddha must be like. My thinking would be, why waist your time on that, your not one so why do you care. I felt like they were acing like a school kid who would say " I wonder what it must be like being a doctor". It never made any sense to me why anyone would wonder what being a buddha is like. Why would people ever talk about becoming enlightened.

From almost the beginning, no one is going to be able to understand the Lotus sutra unless they are a buddha. I figure that im not enlightened, so why wonder what being a buddha is. To me its a waist of time to bother with all that

Yet, i can relate to chanting and changing my karma, that I know and understand and relate too.

I remember one time I hears that all these Buddhas are suppose to meet you and greet you when you become enlightened. I sat there one day and chanted and as I was chanting , thought, I dont want all these buddha meeting me when i become enlightened. I thought that maybe one , possibly two could greet me.

You may think Im being negative about this. But how can I be expected to be excited over something I dont know, I cant relate too, I cant understand