Altruism and compassion in Mahayana and non-Mahayana Buddhis

General forum on Mahayana.

Altruism and compassion in Mahayana and non-Mahayana Buddhis

Postby himalayanspirit » Thu Jul 07, 2011 9:38 am

Since I am not an expert at Buddhism, and in fact an explorer who, for some reasons (past life connections?), gets drawn towards Buddhism a lot (especially towards Mahayana), I am not opening this thread as a debate between Mahayana and Hinayana, but as a means to understand both further.

Mahayanists claim that one should walk the path of Buddhadharma by developing compassion and their accusation against Thervada and Hinayanists is that they are selfish who are working for their own enlightenment. Now two points here:

1. Hinayanists, more so than Mahayanists, emphasize the concept of no-self, where as Mahayanists emphasize the concept of emptiness of both self and dharmas. So how and why are the Hinayanists accused of being egoists who only want "self-liberation"?

2. Usually the Thervadin and other Hinayanist monks stay in monastery and regularly interact with people, give them discourses on dharma and often also exclusively indulge in philanthropic practices for the benefit of many. Where as there are many Mahayanists, especially Vajrayanists, who go into seclusion into a cave and work towards enlightenment. So isn't it hypocritical for Mahayanists to claim that they are helping all sentient beings where as Hinayanists are not helping any being except themselves?
himalayanspirit

Re: Altruism and compassion in Mahayana and non-Mahayana Buddhis

Postby Indrajala » Thu Jul 07, 2011 11:06 am

himalayanspirit wrote:1. Hinayanists, more so than Mahayanists, emphasize the concept of no-self, where as Mahayanists emphasize the concept of emptiness of both self and dharmas. So how and why are the Hinayanists accused of being egoists who only want "self-liberation"?