Looking for Buddhism

Discuss your personal experience with the Dharma here. How has it enriched your life? What challenges does it present?

Looking for Buddhism

Postby maitreya31 » Thu Mar 17, 2011 8:26 pm

I'm searching for the Dharma . I studied the Pali Nikayas . I will search for a Zen master . What Mahayana sutras should I study before begin my practice?
maitreya31

Re: Looking for Buddhism

Postby ground » Fri Mar 18, 2011 7:30 am

First you should know that studying is practice. The proper attitude and concentration with which one studies should not be neglected.
As far as Mahayana sutras are concerned I can give no advice. Because I started with Lamrim, listened to teachers, studied commentaries about sutra and tantra and then re-turned to the Lamrim and - in addition - turned to the sutta pitaka. The sutta pitaka has been completely obscure to me in the beginning but I feel that this has changed after my voyage.

Kind regards
ground

Postby plwk » Fri Mar 18, 2011 7:49 am

As far as I have known, there's are Sutras read and studied in Ch'an but in Zen, which normally is associated with the Japanese Buddhist Tradition and its affiliates, they may have a different approach and one place I know you can get sound advice would be ZFI
plwk

Postby Inge » Fri Mar 18, 2011 11:22 am

maitreya31 wrote:I'm searching for the Dharma . I studied the Pali Nikayas . I will search for a Zen master . What Mahayana sutras should I study before begin my practice?

I'm certainly in no position to say what you should study. The first sutra I read was the Shurangama Sutra. According to what I have read this is also the sutra that the chan master Hsuan Hua suggests to study first.

http://cttbusa.org/shurangama1/shurangama_contents.asp
Inge

Postby Jikan » Fri Mar 18, 2011 1:47 pm

To get a start in Mahayana, I would recommend two brief books that offer expansive teachings: the Awakening of Faith, and Santideva's Guide.