Going for interviews

Discuss your personal experience with the Dharma here. How has it enriched your life? What challenges does it present?

Going for interviews

Postby jibbyboo » Thu Nov 07, 2013 2:10 pm

I am relatively new to Buddhism, however I've been practicing the virtue of honesty for over a year now. And largely have not told any lies or misrepresented myself.

Therefore when I had an interview for a new job and my boss asked me what I was doing with my time off, I told them.

This has worked to my detriment, as I have now been offered an ultimatum to accept a new job with a payrise, but also a doubled notice period and to promise not to look for other jobs.

As this isn't what I want to do with my career, and I didn't like being put in that coercive position, so I have told them I can't accept their offer.

Currently awaiting their response to my rejection, in the hope that as they're distant family they will show some compassion and not provide me with my notice immediately - particularly as they know I have bought a house recently and have a mortgage to pay.

Luckily I have an interview next week, but as I haven't received word from my bosses yet about how they're planning to proceed, so I am reluctant to arrange a time during work hours as I will undoubtedly be asked why I need time off.

It is very difficult to maintain my honesty when I know that it will undoubtedly lead to further hassle at work.

Given the non-virtue of lying, has anybody else been in a similar situation of going for interviews when in another job? How have you dealt with the situation?

I would be very grateful for any help, advice or personal experiences.

Peace.

:buddha2:
jibbyboo

Re: Going for interviews

Postby greentara » Fri Nov 08, 2013 12:16 am