How do I know when to start shikantaza?

mddrill

How do I know when to start shikantaza?

Post by mddrill »

Ive been practicing meditation for about 9 months now. how do I know when ive developed enough concentration to stop following the breath and begin shikantaza?
DGA
Former staff member

Re: How do I know when to start shikantaza?

Post by DGA »

Has your teacher given you instruction in shikantaza?

Have you been encouraged to begin this practice by your teacher?
Astus
Former staff member

Post by Astus »

Shikantaza does not depend on how long you can concentrate on your breath. Just sitting means just sitting, nothing complicated.

"Shikantaza means “just sitting” in Japanese, and to just sit means that we really only sit without doing anything else. This is a really simple practice; we do nothing but sit in the zazen posture breathing easily, keeping the eyes open, staying awake, and letting go. That’s all we do in zazen; we do nothing else." (Shohaku Okumura: Zazen Instruction)
1 Myriad dharmas are only mind.
Mind is unobtainable.
What is there to seek?

2 If the Buddha-Nature is seen,
there will be no seeing of a nature in any thing.

3 Neither cultivation nor seated meditation —
this is the pure Chan of Tathagata.

4 With sudden enlightenment to Tathagata Chan,
the six paramitas and myriad means
are complete within that essence.

1 Huangbo, T2012Ap381c1 2 Nirvana Sutra, T374p521b3; tr. Yamamoto 3 Mazu, X1321p3b23; tr. J. Jia 4 Yongjia, T2014p395c14; tr. from "The Sword of Wisdom"
Anders

Post by Anders »

mddrill wrote:Ive been practicing meditation for about 9 months now. how do I know when ive developed enough concentration to stop following the breath and begin shikantaza?
I don't think there is a fixed rule. Either way, to master Shamatha is excellent practise and something that will stand you in good stead.