Greetings from Norway

Introduce yourself to others at Dharma Wheel.
ivanyo

Greetings from Norway

Post by ivanyo »

My name is Ivan, I'm 23 years old and I currently live in Oslo, Norway.

I am currently not ordained(?) as a Buddhist, as I in general is skeptical to mainstream religion. Although I'm new to Buddhist terminology I can say that I have aspired most of my life for being a so called bodhisattva, and the last two years I have gone through some of the best and hardest experiences up to date in my life. Due to the circumstances and meeting somewhat of(many) spiritual guiders throughout my life, this one on omegle chat of all places, I ended up on a vipassana retreat this year. I have undergone spiritual experiences throughout my whole life, but things started to escalate last fall. I ended up getting mdma in a glass of water in a sober setting, unintentionally, other than really in my mind. Out of this event my spiritual, emotional and academic life went into a crazy roller coaster for half a year, both when abstaining from doing it in periods as well as some months were I would do mdma three times a month, sometimes as much as ten hits in one day-night.

The thing that made me do mdma again, was the courage it gave me, to tell people I could relate to, having gone through extremes my own life, to relate and help them without being afraid I could not reach. After, I did it more and more; I understood fast that this was no altruistic action anymore and it did not bring anything else than sorrow to me and those who love me. During and after the goenka retreat, I again had managed to achieved this courage, not to a delusional MDMA super empathy goodwill-machine degree where I would become pushy, but definitely to the degree where I would never hesitate to help anyone in need. Furthermore I understood that the world around me really is nothing more than a reflection of my own mind (from my POV, at all times).